Facebook Facial Recognition Returns. Time to Check Your Privacy Settings

Facebook is turning photo tagging and recognition back on, and, like a lot of these “features” that potentially affect privacy, it appears that the option is turned on by default. So, especially if you don’t want photos of people who may or may not be you tagged and presented as such, take a look at your privacy settings now.

Go to your Facebook page and:

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right corner of the page and select “Privacy Settings.”
  2. On the left nav bar, under “Privacy Settings,” click “Timeline and Tagging” on the left navigation bar.
  3. Find the last item in the last section: “Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded?”
  4. Select “Friends” or “None”.

If you select “None”, you aren’t actually opted out of the system. Rather, you’re name is not included on the list of recognized faces your “Friends” see when they upload photos.

 

About Lee Stral

Lee is a marketing consultant who has specialized in Internet marketing and Web site development since the Internet first showed promise as a marketing channel. Prior to founding Essential Presence, he was partner in an integrated marketing communications agency working with technology, professional service and non-profit organizations.

Leave a Comment

*